Skip to content

Please Give Tuesday, May 11

The Muse Writers Center is participating in Give Local 757 on Tuesday, May 11 (all day, from midnight to 11:59 p.m.).

All you have to do to donate is click on the donate button that will appear on this page and on the main page of our website on Tuesday, May 11. You can also visit our giving page on the Give Local Website.

Please donate $10 or more to The Muse during this online fundraiser. It's easy, and it's tax-deductible, but if you are not able to donate, you can still help us by spreading the word, sharing our Facebook event, and engaging your friends.

Our Need

We are Hampton Roads’ only literary center, and your generous donation will immediately help fund both the technology and sustainability we need to move forward during the coronavirus crisis and beyond. In a time when our community is isolated from one another, education and artistic enrichment is vital.

We have Great News! A generous donor has given us a challenge. If we can raise $35,000 in one day during Give Local 757, they will donate an additional $15,000 to our organization. Please help us reach our goal.

Help Us Spread the Word

Share our giving page; join our Facebook event; share on your status; and invite your friends to do the same.

Please remember that only donations made on Tuesday, May 11 will count toward grant prizes and our challenge.

Did You Know?

The Muse provides more than $28,000 in tuition assistance and scholarships to nearly 300 students, and helps send 5 people to college each year. We offer nearly 300 classes and serve more than 1,400 students (from age 6 to post-retirement) each year, and The Muse helps give writers a voice, organizing readings, open mics, and writers events that reach more than 13,000 adults, teens, and kids. We're expanding our outreach to senior living communities, youth programs & schools, and military & veterans groups. The Muse is Hampton Roads' only literary center and is ranked in the top-10 in the country! Your donation will help us continue to serve the community. We need your support!

Last year we raised $30,000 in one day. This year, we need to raise even more to sustain our operations, and we are hoping to raise $35,000. All donations will help us win matching grants, and the nonprofit with the highest number of total donations of $10 or more will win a grand prize of $5,000.

Plus, if we reach our $35,000 goal, an anonymous donor will donate an additional $15,000!

Special Prize to Donors

Donate on May 11 and be entered in a drawing to win a free online seminar.

Stay Tuned

Stay tuned for announcements about our fun livestreamed events during Give Local day.